Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Blancpain Endurance Series: Stellar Audi line-up at Spa 24 Hours

Audi Press Release

Four Le Mans winners, a DTM champion, plus many GT winners – the four new Audi R8 LMS cars will be well-filled in the Spa 24 Hours on July 25/26, 2015.

In Audi Sport Team WRT, last year’s winners René Rast/Laurens Vanthoor/Markus Winkelhock (D/B/D) will be sharing an R8 LMS. Sitting in the second race car will be two former winners of the iconic race in the Ardennes, Frank Stippler (D) and Stéphane Ortelli (MC), plus DTM driver Nico Müller (CH), who celebrated the first 24-hour race victory of the new R8 LMS at the Nürburgring in May.

Audi Sport Team Phoenix will be fielding a GT3 sports car for Marcel Fässler (CH) and André Lotterer (D). The three-time Le Mans winners will be sharing driving duties with Mike Rockenfeller (D), the 2013 DTM champion and 2010 Le Mans winner. In the second Phoenix cockpit, three 24-hour Nürburgring race winners, Christopher Mies (D), Christian Mamerow (D) and Nicki Thiim (DK), will be taking turns at the wheel.

Photo credit: Audi Media