Thursday, February 6, 2014

Bathurst 12 Hour: Audi teams arrived at Mount Panorama

By Tarek Ramchani

It's the Bathurst 12 Hour race week at Mount Panorama. The Audi teams are already on site preparing for the demanding Australian enduro event.

Six Audi R8 LMS and ultra cars will take part in the event, aiming to give the Audi brand a third victory. Audi won the Bathurst 12 Hour race twice during the last three years. In 2011 victory came from Audi race experience Team Joest and in 2012 with Phoenix Racing. The Audi teams are featuring many Audi quattro GmbH factory drivers and other big names in motorsport, such as: Rob Huff the WTCC ace, Oliver Gavin from Corvette Racing and Jason Bright, local hero in V8 Supercars.

Four Audi R8 LMS ultra cars will be entering the upper "Class A GT3 Outright". The #3 car from Phoenix Racing will be driven by Rahel Frey, René Rast and Laurens Vanthoor. The #5 car from Rod Salmon (MPC) will have four drivers: Rod Salmon, Jason Bright, Warren Luff and Liam Talbot. The #9 car from Mark Eddy / Marc Cini will be shared by Marc Cini, Mark Eddy and Christopher Mies. The #25 car from United Autosports will have Mark Patterson, Eric Lux and Markus Winkelhock.

Two Audi R8 LMS cars will enter "Class B GT3" for older specifications GT3 cars and single make Porsche Cup cars. The #14 from Rotek Racing (Peter Conroy Motorsport) will be driven by Oliver Gavin, Rob Huff, Richard Meins and Kevin Gleason. The #71 Equity-One Motorsport will have Dean Koutsoumidis, Dean Grant, Dean Fiore and Michael Loccisano behind the wheel.

Photo credit: Bathurst 12 Hour