Wednesday, July 3, 2013

BES: Fourth additional R8 LMS ultra for WRT at the Spa 24 Hours

By Johan Laubscher

On the morning of the Spa 24 Hours Test Day, which was held on Wednesday (3 July 2013), Belgian Audi Club Team WRT announced their plans for the Spa 24 Hours.

The big news was the addition of a fourth Audi R8 LMS ultra and three more drivers joining their regular nine-man squad. The three additions included: Mattias Ekström, Marcel Fässler and André Lotterer. They also announced the driver line-ups for each car. The fourth entry will be driven by Mathias Ekström, Marcel Fässler and Edward Sandström. André Lotterer will join Christopher Mies and Frank Stippler in the third entry. The other two cars will remain with their current Blancpain Endurance line-ups. The #1 driving crew will be Stéphane Ortelli, Laurens Vanthoor and Rene Rast, and the #0 with Nikolaus Mayr-Melnhof, Matt Halliday and Rahel Frey (who are normally the #2 car in BES) .

More information and a quote from Vincent Vosse can be seen at HERE.

This four car team promises to be very strong from Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, who are aiming to win again at the Spa 24 Hours, following their victory in the 2011 edition. This year's race will be held on the weekend of 27-28 July. 

Belgian Audi Club Team WRT at the 2013 Spa 24 Hours: 

#0 - Audi R8 LMS ultra (2013 spec)
Nikolaus Mayr-Melnhof, Matt Halliday, Rahel Frey

#1 - Audi R8 LMS ultra (2013 spec)
Stéphane Ortelli, Laurens Vanthoor, Rene Rast

 - Audi R8 LMS ultra (2013 spec)
André Lotterer, Christopher Mies, Frank Stippler

 - Audi R8 LMS ultra (2013 spec)
Mathias Ekström, Marcel Fässler, Edward Sandström

Photo credit: Audi Sport Communication / Media

*The fourth car is listed as #160 on the Test Day entry list, the final starting number TBA.