Saturday, August 29, 2015

ADAC GT Masters: Audi dominated the Sachsenring practice sessions

ADAC GT Masters Press Release

Christer Jöns in an Abt Audi sets the fastest time in the second session. The Schütz Porsche stops the Abt Audis making it a one-two-three.

The Audis once again proved unbeatable in the second free practice at the Sachsenring. In a rain-affected session, the fastest time went to an R8 LMS ultra entered by the team belonging to former ADAC GT Masters champions Christian Abt, just as it had in the morning. Christer Jöns and Andreas Weishaupt set the fastest time, but only by the narrowest of margins. The Audi duo in the car bearing the number #3 were only 0.001 seconds ahead of their team-mates Stefan Wackerbauer and Kelvin van Linde who had led the timesheets in the morning.

Klaus Bachler and Martin Ragginger in the GW IT Racing-Schütz Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R prevented an Abt Audi triple lockout by edging Jordan Lee Pepper and Nicki Thiim for third place. Current championship leaders Luca Ludwig and Sebastian Asch in the Team Zakspeed Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 acquitted themselves well as fifth fastest, while Dominik Baumann and Jens Klingmann in a BMW Z4 GT3 entered by BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert finished the day in sixth.

Fabian Hamprecht and Clemens Schmid drove the fastest of the Bentley Continental GT3s (Bentley Team HTP) to take seventh place ahead of the two Audi R8 LMS ultras of kfzteile24 MS RACING driven by Daniel Dobitsch and Edward Sandström, fresh from their victory at the Nürburgring, and by Florian Stoll and Marc Basseng. Free practice was temporarily suspended for five minutes after Stoll and Basseng skidded off the track. Andreas Wirth and Daniel Keilwitz (Callaway Competition) completed the Top Ten in the fastest of the Corvette Z06.R GT3s.

Qualifying for Race 1 will take place on Saturday at 08:00 CEST and for Race 2 on Sunday likewise at 08:00 CEST. Both races will be shown live on SPORT1, with coverage on Saturday and Sunday commencing at 13:00 CEST.

Photo credit: ADAC GT Masters