Sunday, May 3, 2015

TT Cup: Dennis Marschall wins a chaotic race 2 at Hockenheim

By Tarek Ramchani

The drivers of the new Audi TT single-make series were back on track at Hockenheim for race 2 this morning. It was an action packed race with a lot of battles and contacts as well on a very wet track.

The safety car was deployed following a very a chaotic start. Back to green Nicolaj Møller Madsen (#17 Audi TT) was able to hold the race lead ahead of  Joonas Lappalainen (#45 Audi TT).

A couple of laps later and the safety car was deployed again. Some drivers were forced to retire including Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky (#89 Audi TT) and Sebastien Landy (#49 Audi TT).

Later a great battle of the race lead raged between Nicolaj Møller Madsen and Dennis Marschall (#27 Audi TT). The latter took the lead after a nice move on lap 8 at the hairpin.

Behind the two drivers there was a great threeway fight for position three between Joonas Lappalainen, Marc Aurel Coleselli (#40 Audi TT) and Alexis van de Poele (#55 Audi TT).

At the end of the 13-lap race, Dennis Marschall took the checkered flag victorious ahead of Nicolaj Møller Madsen. The final spot on the podium went to Alexis van de Poele.

A special mention to FIA World Rallycross Championship star, American Tanner Foust who took a strong sixth place overall.

Photo credit: Audi Media