Monday, January 19, 2015

Bathurst 12 Hour: Greg Crick completes JAMEC-PEM Bathurst 12-Hour squad‏

JAMEC-PEM Racing Press Release

JAMEC-PEM Racing - 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-Hour
19 January, 2015

Experienced Tasmanian driver Greg Crick will complete the six-man JAMEC-PEM Racing squad for the 2015 Bathurst 12-Hour, team boss Steve McLaughlan confirming that the Bathurst veteran and 2014 12-Hour podium place-getter would form an integral part of their assault on the once-around-the-clock endurance event.

“Cricky and I have been mates for years,” the former Australian GT Trophy Class champion admitted. “In fact the car I won my AGT title in, was Greg’s former Dodge Viper. I’ve been at him for 12-months to come and join us, and when we put this second team together, he was always going to be an integral part of the program.”

Crick will jump behind the wheel of the newest JAMEC-PEM Audi R8 ultra alongside experienced Bathurst campaigner Warren Luff, and young international recruit Alessandro Latif.

“I’ve been working with Steve behind the scenes on his GT program over the last 18-months or so,” Crick admitted. “And I was hoping to have been a part of his team last year, but unfortunately I became ill after the 12-Hour last year, and that put paid to many of my racing plans.”

Whilst not one to dwell on the illness that kept him out of a race seat for much of 2014, Crick did want to alert people that he was still around and ready to go after another podium. “I’ve been fourth in the 12-Hour and third last year, so I want a crack at the top two, and that’s why I’m going,” he admitted.

“Fact is, I suffered from issues as a result of absorbing too much carbon-monoxide last year and a prolonged increase in core body temperature, and that did have an affect, but I’m 100% fit now and looking forward to Bathurst. Steve has put together a strong team, and I think we will be in for a good run. Luffy is a fantastic driver, and I expect I’ll learn a lot from him, and I’ve read a little bit about Alex [Latif] and with the miles he’s been doing lately in an R8, he should be quick.

“I drove Steve’s car last year and was seriously impressed with how comfortable the Audi was to drive, so I’m looking forward to getting behind the wheel.”

Whilst Crick, Luff and Latif will share driving duties in the #74 JAMEC-PEM Audi, team-owner McLaughlan will share his #75 entry with 2014 Australian GT rivals James Winslow and Dean Koutsoumidis.

“It’s going to be a big undertaking, but the team at Melbourne Performance Centre are more than up to the task,” McLaughlan explained. “We know the cars, we have the crew, and for the most part the drivers have done plenty of laps around Bathurst, so I think we’re certainly in the mix.

“I’d like to think we could get both cars into the top ten, and from there, who knows..!”

#75 JAMEC-PEM Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3 ultra

Steve McLaughlan (VIC)

• 2014 Island Magic GT Champion (Audi)
• 2013 Island Magic GT Champion (Audi)
• 2013 Australian GT Champion (Trophy Class - Dodge Viper)

James Winslow (UK)

• 2014 Australian GT Champion (2nd - Trophy Class - Audi)
• 2014 Le Mans 24 Hours (LMP2 - Greaves Motorsport)
• 2013 - Asian Le Mans Series (KCMG - LMP2)
• 2012 - Australian Formula 3 Champion
• 2011 - Indy Lights (Andretti Autosport)
• 2010 - Firestone Indy Lights (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
• 2009 Formula Atlantic (USA)
• 2008 Australian Formula 3 Champion
• 2007 Formula V6 Asia Champion
• 2006 Asian Formula 3 Champion
• 2004 British Formula 3 Champion (National Class)

Dean Koutsoumidis (VIC)

• 2014 Australian GT Champion (2nd - Trophy Class - Audi)
• 2012 Australian GT Champion (Trophy Class - Lamborghini)

#74 JAMEC-PEM Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3 ultra

Warren Luff (NSW)

• pole - Rnd#2 2014 Australian GT Championship (Phillip Island - Audi)
• 2014 Porsche Carrera Cup - 2nd
• 2013 V8 Supercars Endurance Cup - 1st (Red Bull Racing)
• 2011 Bathurst 12-Hour - 2nd (Pheonix Racing Audi)
• 2003 V8 Ute Series Champion
• 2002 V8 Ute Series Champion

Greg Crick (TAS)

• 2014 Bathurst 12-Hour - 3rd (Erebus Motorsport)
• 2012 Australian GT Championship - 4th (Dodge Viper)
• 2011 Australian GT Championship - 3rd (Dodge Viper)
• 2006 Australian GT Championship - winner Rnd#2, Mt Panorama
• 2x Targa Tasmania Champion (1992-1993)
• 1991 Australian Sports Sedan Champion

Alessandro Latif (UK)

• 2014 Blancpain Sprint Series (1st Pro-Am Pheonix Racing Audi)
• 2014 Daytona 24-Hours - 5th (GTD - Flying Lizards Audi)
• 2014 Le Mans 24 Hours (LMP2 - Greaves Motorsport)


2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-Hour
Mount Panorama, Bathurst, NSW (6-8 February)

Schedule: [AEDST - GMT +11]

Friday, 6 February 
8:15am - Practice #1 (60-minutes)
11:25am - Practice #2 (60-minutes)
1:35pm - Practice #3 (60-minutes)
4:15pm - Practice #4 (60-minutes)

Saturday, 7 February
7:45am - Practice #5 (60-minutes)
12:55pm - Qualifying #1 (60-minutes)
2:05pm - Qualifying #2 (20-minutes)

Sunday, 8 February

5:50am - Bathurst 12-Hour - Race (12-hours)

JAMEC-PEM Racing is proudly supported by Companion Brands, ROMAN, APC Logistics, Melbourne Performance Centre, and Castrol.

For more information on the JAMEC-PEM Racing team, please contact Steven McLaughlan via Pem Racing

Photo credit: Melbourne Performance Centre