Monday, February 4, 2013

Audi completes driver line-up for 2013 DTM

Audi Press Release

  •          Experience is trumps: eight Audi drivers have 34 wins between them
  •          ‘Norisring King’ Jamie Green high-caliber new signing
  •          Rahel Frey leaves DTM, Miguel Molina remains with squad

Ingolstadt, February 4, 2013 – Audi will start into the 2013 DTM season with a mix of experienced campaigners and ambitious youngsters. The eight drivers have four titles, 478 races, 39 pole positions and 34 victories to their credit between them – marking top tallies in the series. The only change compared to last year’s squad: Rahel Frey is switching to GT racing within AUDI AG. The vacant cockpit will be occupied by new signing Jamie Green.

“I’m convinced that in 2013 we’ll be on the grid with an extremely strong line-up – perhaps the strongest one ever since Audi started competing in the DTM,” says Head of Audi Motorsport Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. While Rahel Frey is leaving the DTM to continue her career with Audi in GT racing, Miguel Molina will be starting his fourth DTM year with Audi.

From this season onwards, the DTM has new regulations: As the race weekends are being shortened to two days, the drivers will have less time in the future to prepare for qualifying and the race. “Finding the perfect set-up in an extremely short space of time will be crucial, so experience is worth its weight in gold,” says Ullrich. “Therefore, we decided not to integrate a DTM rookie and to run with our proven squad. I’d like to sincerely thank Rahel for her strong performances and her commitment in the DTM. She was a valuable addition to the DTM with her manner and poise and will definitely continue this way in her future commitments for Audi.”

Despite their impressive best marks in terms of races and victories the Audi line-up has an average age of just 28 years. The two-time DTM Champions Mattias Ekström and Timo Scheider are spearheading the squad around new signing Jamie Green as ‘old hands.’ Adrien Tambay and Miguel Molina, aged 21 and 23, respectively, are youngsters. Le Mans winner Mike Rockenfeller, Race of Champions winner Filipe Albuquerque and the two-time season winner Edoardo Mortara complete the team.

The new season will start at Hockenheim on May 5, followed by nine rounds, including the DTM premiere at Moscow, until the finale on October 20.

Mattias Ekström
Jamie Green
Timo Scheider
Mike Rockenfeller
Miguel Molina
Edoardo Mortara
Filipe Albuquerque
Adrien Tambay

Photos by Audi Sport Media