Wednesday, December 26, 2012

2012 Audi winning motorsport season in 12 photos

By Tarek Ramchani

2012 has been a great season for the Audi brand in the world of motorsport. Championship titles and prestigious race victories were achieved all around the world. The highlight was of course the historical and unprecedented four 24 hour race victories at the Nürburgring, Le Mans, Spa-Francorchamps and Zolder. No other brand has done this before. Audi dominated the FIA WEC by winning the drivers, teams and constructors titles. Included in the FIA WEC triumph was an eleventh outright Le Mans 24 Hours victory with a 1-2-3 for the R18 e-tron quattro cars and the first ever Hybrid win at La Sarthe. Championship titles also came from the demanding Blancpain Endurance Series with Belgian Audi Club Team WRT. Edoardo Mortara again proved to be Mr. Macau, by winning in the Asian Macau GT Cup race with the R8 LMS ultra. Privateer Audi teams also achieved great results this year. Audi Sport Italia built and dominated with the RS 5 quattro in the Superstars Series, with Johan Kristoffersson the driver champion. In South Africa the Audi teams and the S4 quattro gave the Four Rings a back-to-back title with Michael Stephen. These successes listed above are just a brief glimpse into the successful 2012 season for Audi as many other titles and race wins came from across the globe. The end of the season was marked by the Audi Sport 2012 Finale at Ingolstadt and the emotional farewell of Dindo Capello. The Italian champion raced at Le Mans 2012 for the last time with the factory squad.

Here is a selection of the best from this Audi racing season portrayed in twelve photos from around the world.

Phoenix Racing won the Bathurst 12 Hour race with the #1 Audi R8 LMS.
Audi Sport Team Joest dominated the 12 Hours of Sebring, FIA WEC season opener.
Audi Sport Team Phoenix won the Nurburgring 24 Hours, first time for Audi.
Audi Sport Team Joest 1-2-3 victory at Le Mans, first ever overall Hybrid win with the R18 e-tron quattro.
Audi dominated the Spa 24 Hours, Phoenix Racing just ahead of WRT for a Audi 1-2.
Belgian Audi WRT won the Zolder 24 Hours with their R8 LMS ultra.
Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Macel Fassler are the 2012 FIA World Endurance Champions with Audi.
Johan Kristoffersson and the Audi RS 5 quattro ruled the International Superstars Series in their debut season.
Title defended in South Africa, Michael Stephen and the S4 quattro are again champions in Bridgestone Production Cars
Belgian Audi Club WRT are the Blancpain Endurance Series champions.
Four in a raw for Mr. Macau, Edoardo Mortara who won the Grand Prix of Macau GT Cup race with the R8 LMS ultra.
Emotional goodbye for Dindo Capello after great years with Audi.