Saturday, August 1, 2015

Audi Sport TT Cup: Jan Kisiel wins Spielberg race 1

By Tarek Ramchani

Five different winners in five rounds in the 2015 Audi Sport TT Cup. Jan Kisiel (#43 Audi TT) has won the first  race of the weekend at the Red Bull Ring.

The Polish driver started the race from position three on the grid and managed to take the lead in the opening lap after a great battle with both poleman Nicolaj Møller Madsen (#17 Audi TT) and Dennis Marshall (#27 Audi TT). After that Jan Kisiel was able to build a good gap ahead of  Dennis Marshall.

In the closing stages of the race, the fans enjoyed a great duel between the leading Jan Kisiel and  Dennis Marshall. The latter managed to close the gap but he did not have enough time to challenge Jan Kisiel for the race victory. Third place went to Nicolaj Møller Madsen.

Rahel Frey (#95 Audi TT) took a great fourth place overall. The Swiss Audi star was the best of the guest drivers in the opening race.

Dutch driver Loris Hezemans (#50 Audi TT) completed the top-five after a great battle with Rahel Frey for position four. Christoph Hofbauer (#7 Audi TT) was sixth. Dominik Peitz (#26 Audi TT) was seventh. Gosia Rdest (#3 Audi TT) was eighth, her best result this year in Audi Sport TT Cup. Kaan Onder (#9 Audi TT) was ninth.

A heroic race by Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky (#89 Audi TT). The Swedish driver started the race from position seventeen on the grid and managed to bounce back in the 15-lap race. She ended in a very strong tenth place overall after some sensational overtakings.

Dreen Seidel with the Playboy backed #99 Audi TT was ninteenth overall and second among the guest drivers ahead of Emiliano Perucca Orfei (#94 Audi TT) in third.

Race 2 is set for Sunday

Photo credit: Audi Media