Saturday, July 4, 2015

ADAC GT Masters: Top 10 results for MS Racing and YACO Racing in Lausitzring race 1

By Tarek Ramchani

A sunny Lausitzring circuit played host to the first of the two ADAC GT Masters races of the weekend today. It was race full of ups and down for the Audi entries with a two R8 LMS ultras inside the top-ten.

The Audi teams performed very well in yesterday's qualifying session but were not able to fight for the top spots today

The best ranked Audi car was the #24 R8 LMS ultra of Florian Stoll and Marc Basseng. The two drivers were eighth overall.

Rahel Frey and her team-mate Philip Geipel were thenth behind the wheel of the #16 Audi R8 LMS ultra from YACO Racing. The two drivers improved compared to yesterday's qualifying results.

A harder race for the C.ABT Racing three Audis. Jordan Lee Pepper and Nicki Thiim were eleventh with the #2 R8 LMS ultra. Andreas Weishaupt and Christer Jöns were fourteenth with the #3 Audi. Kelvin van der Linde and  Stefan Wackerbauer were forced to retire.

The second MS Racing entry faced technical issues and did not started the race. The #100 Audi R8 LMS ultra driven by Daniel Dobitsch and Edward Sandström.

Race victory went to the #80 BMW Z4 GT3 from BMW Sports Trophy Team Schuber. The #42 Mercedes-Benz SLS GT3 from HP Racing was second. The final spot on the podium went to the #19 BMW Z4 GT3 from BMW Sports Trophy Team Schuber.

Lausitzring Race 1 Results

The second ADAC GT Masters race will be held on Sunday.

Photo credit: ADAC GT Masters