Monday, June 8, 2015

PHOTOS: 13 wins in 16 years - Audi at Le Mans 24 Hours

By Tarek Ramchani

The Audi brand arrived at Le Mans in 1999, since then no less than 13 outright victories have come. The Four Rings have been beaten only three times in sixteen attemps.

Here is a look back at all of the past sixteen editions.

1999 - An unbelievable debut with a podium and a fourth place with the Audi R8R

2000 - The first win at La Sarthe with a magical 1-2-3 victory for the new Audi R8

2001 - Title denfended for the Audi R8 in apocalyptical conditions

2002 - A new 1-2-3 for the Audi R8 in its final appearance with a factory effort

2003 - Third place and LMP900 class victory for the Audi R8

2004 - An all-Audi R8 podium with three different privateer teams

2005 - A winning goodbye for the Audi R8 against a much faster Pescarolo

2006 - Diesel revolution at Le Mans with the new Audi R10 TDI

2007 - Audi defeated the new comers from Peugeot

2008 - "Truth in 24," the Audi R10 TDI won against a superior Peugeot 908

2009 - Hardest Le Mans ever for Audi, a podium for the new Audi R15 TDI

2010 - A 1-2-3 win for the Audi R15 TDI plus, new race distance record

2011 - Race of the century, a surviving Audi R18 TDI defeated the Peugeot squad

2012 - Audi challenged by new comers from Toyota, a 1-2-3 victory for the Audi R18

2013 - Audi defeated Toyota with the Audi R18 e-tron quattro after a long tactical race

2014 - Not favourite but victorious, the Audi R18 won ahead of Toyota and a returning Porsche

Photo credit: Audi Media