Friday, January 9, 2015

Bathurst 12 Hour: Dean Koutsoumidis joins James Winslow at Jamec Pem Racing

By Johan Laubscher

Steve McLaughlan's new driver line-up for the 2015 Bathurst 12 Hour was announced on Friday. In November it was revealed that McLaughlan would be sharing his Melbourne Performance Centre run Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8 LMS ultra with Warren Luff and James Winslow, but a change has been made to the line-up.

Their three-man driver line-up has been completed with the addition of Dean Koutsoumidis joining James Winslow and Steve McLaughlan. Koutsoumidis drove together with James Winslow during the 2014 Australian GT Championship. They finished runner-up in the GT Trophy class championship with the #71 Equity-One Motorsport Audi R8 LMS.

Dean Koutsoumidis took part in the 2013 and 2014 Bathurst 12 Hour races, both times behind the wheel of his Equity-One Motorsport Audi R8 LMS.

No word yet as to the plans for Warren Luff who was originally planned to drive the Jamec Pem Racing Audi. There could potentially be some exciting news regarding the team coming up in the weeks leading up to the Bathurst 12 Hour, as mentioned by Dean Koutsoumidis (@koutsoumidis) on twitter: "There may however be a 2nd car.....stay tuned"

A total of seven Audi race cars have been announced that will be taking part at Bathurst, six Audi R8 LMS ultra entries and one Audi TT RS. There are however seven Audi R8 LMS ultra cars listed on the entry list, with the addition of a second Steve McLaughlan entered Audi R8 LMS ultra - no news yet regarding this listing on the entry list.

The 2015 Bathurst 12 Hour will be taking place from 6-8 February.

Photo credit: Audi Communications - Motorsport