Friday, December 20, 2013

TSF All Star: J-Fly Racing Audis topped the official practice sessions in Taiwan

By Johan Laubscher

The TSF Asia All Star Challenge is taking place at the Penbay International Circuit in Taiwan this weekend. Four Audi entries from J-Fly Racing have been entered and they are showing good pace so far.

J-Fly Racing, being run and prepared by Absolute Racing, is fielding four Audi R8 LMS entries this weekend. Their arsenal includes three older Audi R8 LMS cars in the GTM class and one Audi R8 LMS ultra in the GT3 class. All four entries are being fielded for the GT Master Cup.

The first car will be driven by the 2013 Audi R8 LMS Cup champion, Adderly Fong. The second car will have 
Carlo Van Dam and Benjamin Lee behind the wheel. The third car will be driven by Alex Chang and Evan Chen. The team’s Audi R8 LMS ultra will be driven by Jeffrey Lee alongside factory Audi driver, Rahel Frey.

Friday kicked off the official weekend proceedings with a GT Master Cup free practice session in the morning before the lunch break, followed by the official practice session later in the afternoon.

The free practice session saw three of the Audis taking part and showing good pace. Carlo Van Dam and Benjamin Lee set the fastest time with their #017 Audi R8 LMS. The #666 Audi R8 LMS of Alex Chang and Evan Chen was third fastest, followed by the #77 Audi R8 LMS ultra of Jeffrey Lee and Rahel Frey in fifth.

The first official practice session was held later on Friday afternoon. Another Audi topped the times sheets. The #77 Audi R8 LMS ultra of Jeffrey Lee and Rahel Frey set the fastest time within the one minute forty second lap time bracket. It was an Audi 1-2 at the top, as Adderly Fong set the second fastest time with his #068 Audi R8 LMS. The #017 R8 LMS of Carlo Van Dam and Benjamin Lee set the fourth fastest time of the session. The #666 Audi R8 LMS did not take part in this session.

Qualifying will be held on Saturday, followed by the races on Sunday. We wish the best of luck to J-Fly Racing (Absolute Racing) and their drivers.

Photo credit: