Monday, December 30, 2013

STT: Audi teams 2013 season review

By Johan Laubscher

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy season provided another great year of racing with a very wide variety of race cars. Many different Audi cars were among the large mixture of entrants, including some very potent Audi racing machinery.

The list of Audis included ex-factory Audi A4 DTM and Audi A4 quattro STW vehicles, Audi Sport customer racing cars such as the Audi R8 LMS ultra and the Audi TT RS and many other Audi race cars.

The STT is also another example of a smaller European championship which allows the full 2013 specification Audi R8 LMS ultra to compete with the new more aggressive rear diffuser fitted to the cars.

The season review has been compiled from the 2013 Audi Motorsport Blog Weekend Round Up posts. Each round has been added as was seen in the individual Weekend Round Up posts during 2013, which can be accessed via the links throughout the review below:

Round 1: Hockenheim

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy (STT) got their season underway at Hockenheim. A large variety of Audi cars took part, including an Audi A4 DTM R11, two Audi TT RS SP4T VLN cars, Audi A4 STW, Audi 80 (ROC), Audi A3 and many more. Eddy Kamm in his Audi A4 DTM finished fourth in the first race and won the second race.

Round 2: Nürburgring

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy (STT) was at the Nürburgring for the Euro Race weekend. This was round two of the championship and a total of five Audis competed. This included two SP4T VLN Audi TT RS cars, an Audi A4 DTM R11, an A3 and an ex-ROC Audi 80 touring car. Race one saw a trio of Audi placing in positions ten through twelve, with Franjo Kovac and Martin Tschornia tenth with their Audi TT RS, followed by René Freisberg’s Audi A3 and Joachim Duscher’s Audi 80. Race two again saw Franjo Kovac and Martin Tschornia as the highest Audi by placing fifth.

Round 3: Hockenheim

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy also took place at Hockenheim, and was run together with the AvD 100 Meilen. A number of Audi cars compete in the STT, including: Audi TT RS (SP4T), Audi A4 DTM R11, Audi A3, Audi 80 (ex-ROC) etc. The most notable addition this weekend was the Prosperia C.ABT Racing R8 LMS ultra, which was entered in the DMV TCC and the STT. Christer Jöns shared the R8 LMS ultra with Slobodan Cvetkovic for the STT races, and they topped free practice. Edy Kamm won the race in his Audi A4 DTM R11, finishing ahead of the Prosperia R8 LMS ultra, which finished second overall and first in its class.

Round 4: Oschersleben

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy was at Oschersleben this weekend. This championships has a number of Audi cars taking part, including Audi A4 DTM R11, Audi TT RS (SP4T), ex-ROC Audi 80, Audi A3 and more. Prosperia C.ABT Racing again joined the championship this weekend with Slobodan Cvetkovic behind the wheel of the #49 Audi R8 LMS ultra. Eddy Kamm dominated the weekend in his Audi A4 DTM and took both race victories.

Round 5: Spa-Francorchamps

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy (STT) was at Spa, hosting round five. A total of six Audis took part, including a 2004 Audi A4 DTM R11 and SP4T VLN Audi TT RS cars. Eddy Kamm and his A4 DTM dominated the weekend once again by taking both race victories in Belgium.

Round  6: Nürburgring

The Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy hosted round six at the Nürburgring. A total of five Audis took part this weekend. The entered Audis included: one Audi TT RS SP4T, one Audi A4 STW, one Audi A3, one new Audi R8 LMS ultra and one Audi A4 DTM R11. The Audi R8 LMS ultra in the field was that of Berthold Gruhn, who had previously driven an Audi TT RS SP4T. He debuted his new R8 LMS ultra in the STT this weekend. He had previously successfully debuted/rolled out the car in the Bördesprint Cup at Oschersleben during August. Race two of the weekend was won by Edy Kamm in his Audi A4 DTM.

Round 7: Nürburgring

The finale of the Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy was held at the Nürburgring this weekend. A very large grid took part, including six Audi race cars.

The list of private Audi entrants included one Audi R8 LMS ultra. The R8 LMS ultra was the car of Berthold Gruhn, who debuted his #29 Audi R8 LMS ultra at the previous round. The car is run by Rotary Motorsport IG. The original entry list included two Audi R8 LMS ultra cars. Gruhn’s R8 LMS ultra was alongside a single entry from Prosperia C.ABT Racing, as the #49 Audi R8 LMS ultra of Slobodan Cvetkovic, who had taken part in some of the STT rounds during 2013, was also listed, however they did not take part this weekend.

The Audi R8 LMS ultra was entered in the “Klasse 2” class. This class also included the #46 Audi S4 B5 driven by Ulf Ehninger and Jochen Ayasse.

The classes are split between divisions one and two. Division 1 includes “Klasse 2” as well as the “Klasse 11 STT Spezial,” which included one of the front runners and regular STT competitor, Edy Kamm, in his 2004 Audi A4 DTM R11. Three more Audis were included in two of the other classes within Division 2. “Klasse 7” saw the entry of Marc Roth in his #65 Audi A4 quattro STW. The final two entrants were in “Klasse 4,” the #33 Audi A3 of René Freisberg and the #12 ex-ROC French Supertourisme Audi 80 of Joachim Duscher.

Two STT races were held at the Nürburgring during the weekend. Qualifying for the first race saw Berthold Gruhn as the highest Division 1 qualifier, placing his Audi R8 LMS ultra in ninth place. All three of the Audis within the Division 2 ranks placed within their overall class top ten, with René Freisberg taking pole in his Audi A3, ahead of Roth in eighth and Duscher in ninth.

The grid for race two saw Edy Kamm back on the front row, as he put his A4 DTM in second position overall and within Division 1. A trio of Audis placed within the top four in Division 2. René Freisberg took second on the grid, ahead of Joachim Duscher in third, followed by Marc Roth in fourth.

Race one was the scene for a double victory by the Audi teams. Edy Kamm took the overall, Division 1 and Klasse 11 victory with his Audi A4 DTM. Berthold Gruhn and his R8 LMS ultra placed fifteenth within Division 1 and took third place within Klasse 2. The #46 Audi S4 unfortunately retired. René Freisberg was victorious with his A3 in Division 2 and Klasse 4. Joachim Duscher placed third within Division 2, also taking third within Klasse 4. Marc Roth finished fifth within Division 2 and took victory in Klasse 7.

Edy Kamm made it two from two by winning the final race in his A4 DTM. Berthold Gruhn finished twenty-first in Division 1 and third again within Klasse 2. The #46 Audi S4 was fourth in class. René Freisberg finished second within Division 2 and in Klasse 4, followed by Joachim Duscher in third. Marc Roth won Klasse 7 again and finished fourth within Division 2.

This weekend concluded the 2013 Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy season, a year which again saw multiple private Audi race cars taking part.

Photo credit:
Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy
Nürburgring on Facebook