Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Audi Sport Team Rosberg no longer the third team

By Tarek Ramchani

Team Rosberg has been racing with Audi as a factory team in the DTM since 2006. The team always used older specification Audi A4 DTM cars, with disappointing results most of the time.

Things have changes since 2011. Team Rosberg welcomed two young and fast drivers, who adapted quickly and really well to the demanding DTM. Portuguese driver Filipe Albuquerque who came from Audi Sport Italia and Italian Edoardo Mortara who came from the F3 single seater formula. Both drivers had a great debut in the German series during 2011. Mortara was on the podium twice and even better he won the non-championship event at Munich Olympic Stadium.

In 2012 Team Rosberg finally had the chance to use a brand new DTM racer, when Audi debuted the A5 DTM R17, an equal start for all three Audi factory teams. Overall the season was very difficult for Audi as a brand, but not for Team Rosberg. Edoardo Mortara won his first ever DTM victory at the Red Bull Ring, the first ever for Team Rosberg with Audi. Later in the year Edo won again at Zandvoort. He finished fifth in the championship. Filipe Albuquerque had a harder year but was always capable of taking points and fighting hard on track, Filipe ended the season in eleventh overall. Audi Sport Team Rosberg was classified fourth in the teams standings, and the best Audi team.

For 2013 both drivers will continue with Audi Sport Team Rosberg. The team is aiming very high for this year's competition in the DTM overall, but also within the Audi squad, to again be the top Audi team alongside Phoenix Racing and Abt Sportsline. The season opener is set for this weekend, at the Hockenheimring. Team Rosberg and their pair of Audi RS 5 DTM cars will try to prove again that they are no longer the third team at Audi.

Photo credit: Audi Media